FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups Profile Log in to check your private messages
 Forum Index      Log in  Register
Police Body Armor, 2019

Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Replica and Screen Used Costumes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
eltee
Community Member

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:50 am    Post subject: Police Body Armor, 2019 Reply with quote

I've been a cop since 1980. Since then I've gone through many, many different types of body armor for work. They change them every five years due to a useable life based on five years. When they change, it is often a different vest due to advances in vest design, and changes in the contract / vendor. Also, when I went to the tactical unit, I went from a concealed type armor to a bulkier exterior armor (much more comfortable and with pockets). My point here is that cops could be seen wearing different types / makes of armor in a real life agency.

There was also non-ballistic armor, worn for crowd control, in prisons, etc. that protected the officer from impact trauma, not ballistic penetration. It appears to me that the Sinisalo motocross chest protector may have been meant to represent impact trauma protection, not ballistic protection. IIRC, armor was not mentioned in the book. Also, I noticed some officers wore jackets and in one photo an officer has a fishnet like (hot weather) shirt under his armor.

Just wanted to hear people's opinions on the exterior armor that was seen on the uniform cops being for impact protection vs. stopping bullets.
andy
Community Guide

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Charles Knode's sketch for the police armor...

From Bladezone

There is a good extra on the DVD set that talks quite a bit about the police outfits. I think one of the aspects they were trying to go with was a robotic, inhuman look. Also reference to the outfits of the gestapo.