FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups Profile Log in to check your private messages
 Forum Index      Log in  Register
Screen used watch, Microma or Timex case?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Replica and Screen Used Props
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nexus7
Community Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2014
Posts: 283
Location: New York Metro Area

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would be funny if we found out it WAS a Timex, and that they were even HARDER to find. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Deckard_0489
Community Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://forum.pocketcalculatorshow.com/topic/timex-bladerunner

The timex case seems to be more thinner than microma case.

Anyone here have a timex to confirm the differences?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Mr Webber
Community Member


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 1768
Location: Terra Australis

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A Timex with the correct band needs to be found or it all falls apart, I doubt the wardrobe department would put a Microma band on a Timex case.
_________________
Formerly offworld66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Buch
Community Member


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 1030
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are both thick and thin MICROMAS... there are quite a few models really


Deckard_0489 wrote:
http://forum.pocketcalculatorshow.com/topic/timex-bladerunner

The timex case seems to be more thinner than microma case.

Anyone here have a timex to confirm the differences?

_________________
Monsieur, azonnal kövessen engem bitte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Deckard_0489
Community Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://app.f.m-cocolog.jp/t/typecast/1074656/1097691/57298666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
andy
Community Guide


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 6036
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was going to say I can't see the groove in the pics of Deckard's watch, but it looks like some of the Micromas do not have the groove as well.

http://tsukasajun.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2009/11/post-3519.html

I wonder if the Timex is a rebrand of the same Microma? The band being the main difference between them, not including the logo.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
joberg
Community Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 8476

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't be surprised if wardrobe did so. Everything in this movie is crazy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Pierre990429
Community Member


Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting thread.

Here is my Microma Collection : http://propsummit.com/viewtopic.php?t=4588

There were 2 variants : the "screen-used" (?) thick, screwed-back, 2 thin lines, large elements on the bracelet,

and the thin, snap-on back (hate this system), no thin lines, short elements on the bracelet.

As you see, on of mine is a "Timex" (thin version).

I once saw a "Timex" model, but with a more anguler look on the case, on Ebay. (went for ~ $800, never saw one again)

The "Timex" modules are the same as the "thin" Micromas, I think.

On some of the snap-on backs of the Micromas, there is a Chinese (?) name and "Hong-Kong". The name of the case manufacturer ?

Another think : these modules are rather fragile and tricky : sometimes they crash after a battery replacement, even if you push the reset button. You have to make sure you can select/set the time and date normally (I've seen a case where the hours jumped from "10" to "1") after you put the new batteries. Otherwise, take them off and try again. Once it's good, it stays this way, luckily.

Also, the modules are not always very time-accurate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Replica and Screen Used Props All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
BBTech Template by © 2003-04 MDesign

Problems Registering Contact: help@propsummit.com